D’oh!Mestic

ugly cupcakes

Posted on: October 15, 2007

So, somewhere between the really good coffee, the delicious homemade bagels and the Stephen Colbert column, the Capt’n turned to me and said, “Wow. After the dog-and-pony show for the bread, cupcakes are going to seem like a snap, aren’t they?”

I think I rolled my eyes at him and mumbled something about “done baking for the weekend.”

And then the coffee kicked in.

(Sidebar: “…and then the coffee kicked in” is totally going to be the title of my autobiography and/or memoir.)

I ended up making devil’s food cuppycakes with cream cheese frosting, both from the yellow book. I don’t know, maybe I’m a sucker, but I was feeling bad for the yellow book by the end of the weekend. It just sat there on the shelf while the new, sexier bread book got to be out on the counter, all showy and used and covered in flour.

Poor yellow book.

CUPPYCAKES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! - Tray

So cuppy cakes. They turned out kind of ugly. Fortunately, we’re silly with the Ugly Dolls.

Hello Mr. Cuppycake...

The cakes themselves were nice and moist, though not as sweet as the Capt’n likes them. “Call me savage, call me an ugly American,” he says (on a daily basis). “But I like a sweet cupcake.”

Spork'd!

Actually, they got sweeter as they cooled. Really, I think the Capt’n needs to stop going “nomnomnomHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOTcanttasteanythingszors!” the minute a treat comes out of the oven.

The cleaning crew

Yeah. It’s all fun and games until somebody drops one.

Hurray, cupcakes!

Leave a comment

Flickr Photos

October 2007
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031